Nine Dimensions of Wellbeing

Life Categories The Nine Dimensions of Wellbeing

The key to living your life to the fullest is balance. How can you live your life to the fullest if one or more areas of your life suffer? For example, maybe you are successful in your career, but will it matter if your family life is not happy? Or perhaps you are a very knowledgeable person, but will it matter if your body is sick?

I’ve discovered nine dimensions of wellbeing in our lives. Each of these areas act and interact in a way that contributes to our whole quality of life.

Health and Wellbeing

The Health dimension encompasses several facets, including diet, exercise, rest, and mental health. What you put into your body does matter, as does the amount of activity your body gets. It is essential to keep your body in tip-top shape. Not only should you prevent yourself from getting sick, but you should also strive to have the high-level energy you need to accomplish your tasks. What your mind consumes and processes matters as well. How are you taking care of your physical and mental health?

Wealth and Prosperity

Whether you’re an entrepreneur, working professional, or student, this category is about how you make a living. This area also encompasses insurance against loss, money management, and financial responsibility.

Intellect and Education

In the intellect and education dimension, we deal with a broad range of ideas that relate to the mind, like thought management, problem-solving, thinking, and learning. The desire to learn new concepts, improve skills, and seek challenges in pursuit of lifelong learning contributes to our mental health. This category also includes other concepts and life skills such as morals, values, integrity, self-discipline, perseverance, personal responsibility, and so on.

Image and Identity

The dimension of image and identity is pretty easy to understand and involves how you take care of yourself aesthetically, and what you put on your body (ink and piercings included) to clothe it. This category also encompasses your self-esteem and self-concept.

Romance and Intimacy

I include everything to do with a romantic relationship like feeling understood, validated, and cherished by a partner, giving and receiving love in the romance and intimacy life category.  Integrated goals and purposes are also discussed.

Social and Relationships

The social and relationships dimension encompasses relationships with your family, friends, and colleagues. Relationships are what make our life beautiful. The most excellent feeling of fulfillment doesn’t come from your achievements; it comes from your relationships. Complete wellness is the ability to relate to and connect with other people in our world. It has everything to do with our ability to establish and maintain positive relationships.

Recreation and Volunteering

Just as the social category embodies our ‘relationships,’ the recreation and volunteering life category covers the ‘activities’ that we take part in with those people in our relationships. Of course, some recreational activities are done alone.

Environment and Community

The environment and community life category includes our community, home, and even transportation. It contains  privacy and stability in our house, freedom from danger to our property, order, and stability in the neighborhood and community, among other things. What we do to make a positive impact on the quality of our environment, be it our homes, our communities, or our planet, is part of this category.


The Spiritual dimension includes our relationship with the infinite. Spirituality, in this sense, goes beyond religion. It’s a vital force in our life that shapes our values, humility, purpose, treatment of others, treatment of self, and acknowledges a power beyond our self.


When you’re trying to change your life, you need to look at each of these nine areas, because they are linked to each other in some shape or form. Your health affects your relationships. Your physical environment affects your work and financial goals etc. etc.  For the right goals to align with your overall happiness, you need to recognize that you are a whole person with a multi-faceted life.

I believe that as you become more aware of the nine areas in your own life, you begin to live with more intent. This awareness makes it possible to devote time and energy to each area and reach success.